HCA Healthcare today presented the HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction to recipients at a ceremony in Nashville. The HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction include the Frist Humanitarian Award, the HCA Innovators Award and the HCA Excellence in Nursing Award. These annual awards celebrate our colleagues, physicians and volunteers who exemplify the company’s culture and values. (Click here for a replay webcast of the Awards of Distinction Ceremony.)

As part of today’s ceremony, we also presented a special honorary Award of Distinction to Sunrise Hospital & Medical Center in Las Vegas, Nevada for their response and courage on October 1, 2017 when a gunman opened fire on a crowd of concertgoers at the Route 91 Harvest festival. As the closest trauma center to the strip, Sunrise treated more than 200 victims in the first hour alone.

“Our hospitals prepare for the worst scenarios imaginable, and pray it never happens,” HCA Chairman and CEO Milton Johnson said. “The team at Sunrise reacted quickly and professionally, working together to support each other, reunite families, and save lives. I am incredibly proud of their efforts in the face of overwhelming trauma.”

This mass casualty event was unprecedented in our nation’s history. It was met with an outstanding effort from Sunrise Hospital, as well as support from our entire HCA family.

“As we celebrate our 50th year as a company, we are reminded of the founding vision to provide the best possible care to patients, with warmth and compassion,” Johnson said. “The recipients being honored today exemplify that commitment and have done extraordinary things through the care they provide and service to others. Put simply, they represent the best of HCA Healthcare.”

Meet the recipients in the video vignettes below.

Frist Humanitarian Award

The Frist Humanitarian Award, named in honor of one of HCA’s co-founders, Dr. Thomas F. Frist, Sr. (1910 – 1998), was created in 1971. The award honors individuals within HCA Healthcare who demonstrate a level of commitment and caring that goes beyond everyday acts of kindness, and who inspire colleagues with their compassion and dedication.

Physician recipient 

Sami Ismail, MD | Neonatologist | TriStar Centennial Medical Center | Nashville, Tennessee

Employee recipient

Lorrie Sarver, RN | Director of Emergency Services | Memorial Hospital | Jacksonville, Florida

Volunteer recipient

Doris Carson | Regional Medical Center of San Jose | San Jose, California

HCA internal audience can view the video here

HCA Innovators Award

HCA was created through the vision of founders Dr. Thomas F. Frist, Sr., Mr. Jack Massey and Dr. Thomas “Tommy” Frist, Jr., and 50 years later, HCA is a learning healthcare system that continues to invent and develop systems to improve patient care, in large part due to the innovative ideas of employees. The HCA Innovators Award, established in 2010, continues the tradition of recognizing innovative thinkers whose ideas improve patient quality, service or the efficiency of operations.

Service Excellence recipient

Aaron Montlary | Director of Clinical Development and Innovation | HCA Information Technology & Services | Nashville, Tennessee

Quality and Patient Safety recipient  

Donna Harrell, RD, | Clinician Nutrition Lead | HealthTrust | Nashville, Tennessee

Financial Impact recipient

David Chia | Director of Application Services | HCA Far West Division Information Technology & Services

HCA internal audience can view the video here

HCA Excellence in Nursing Award

The HCA Excellence in Nursing Award, created in 2014, recognizes the intrinsic value of the nursing practice in accomplishing the company mission of providing the highest quality of care to patients and communities.

Professional Mentoring recipient

Kerri Tillquist, RN | The Medical Center of Aurora | Aurora, Colorado

Compassionate Care recipient

Edward Lee, RN | Medical City McKinney | McKinney, Texas

HCA internal audience can view the video here

The Frist Humanitarian Award includes a $5,000 donation to the charity of the recipient’s choice and $5,000 for the employee or volunteer. The physician honoree receives a $10,000 donation to the charity of his or her choice. The HCA Innovators Award winners receive $10,000, while the HCA Excellence in Nursing Award recipients receives $5,000 and a $5,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

HCA 50th Anniversary
In 1968, HCA Healthcare was conceived by two physicians and an accomplished business leader — Dr. Thomas Frist Sr., Dr. Thomas Frist Jr., and Jack Massey. This year, HCA celebrates its golden anniversary and the culture of caring established by our three founders 50 years ago. To help us celebrate our 50th year, we’ll share stories here that reflect HCA’s mission – above all else, the care and improvement of human life – and our pledge to improve life and make history for the next 50 years and beyond.