Meet the 2016 HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction Recipients

HCA Healthcare today presented the 2016 HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction to recipients at a ceremony in Nashville. The HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction include the Frist Humanitarian Award, the HCA Innovators Award and the HCA Excellence in Nursing Award.

“The HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction celebrate some of HCA’s finest employees, physicians and volunteers who live out our company’s values and mission every day,” said Milton Johnson, HCA’s chairman and chief executive officer. “Our HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction recipients have demonstrated that delivering healthcare the way it was intended – compassionate, patient-centered, community-focused –makes a difference in the lives of our patients, our communities and beyond.”

Meet the recipients in the video vignettes below.

Frist Humanitarian Award

The Frist Humanitarian Award, named in honor of one of HCA’s co-founders, Dr. Thomas F. Frist, Sr. (1910 – 1998), was created in 1971. The award honors individuals within HCA who demonstrate a level of commitment and caring that goes beyond everyday acts of kindness, and who inspire colleagues with their compassion, dedication and spirit.

Physician Recipient

Mark Stavros, MD | West Florida Hospital | Pensacola, Florida

Volunteer Recipient

Beverly Ford | Medical City Lewisville | Lewisville, Texas

Employee Recipient

Leolalinda Petinglay Plameras, RN, BSN | Doctors Hospital of Augusta | Augusta, Georgia

HCA internal audience can view the Frist Humanitarian Award video here. 

HCA Innovators Awards

HCA was created through the vision of founders Dr. Thomas F. Frist, Sr., Mr. Jack Massey and Dr. Thomas “Tommy” Frist, Jr., and nearly 50 years later, the company continues to invent and develop systems to advance health and patient care, in large part due to ideas from employees. The HCA Innovators Award continues the tradition of recognizing innovative thinkers whose ideas improve patient quality, service or the efficiency of operations.

Service Excellence Recipient

Fred Webster| West Valley Medical Center | Caldwell, Idaho

Quality and Patient Safety Recipient

Hunter Davis and Sean Albert| HCA Capital Division | Richmond, Virginia

Financial Impact Recipient

Mohammed Elayan, PharmD, BCOP | Sarah Cannon Cancer Institute at TriStar Centennial Medical Center | Nashville, Tennessee

HCA internal audience can view the HCA Innovators Awards video here.

HCA Excellence in Nursing Award

The HCA Excellence in Nursing Award recognizes the intrinsic value of the nursing practice in accomplishing the company mission of providing the highest quality of care to patients and communities.

Compassionate Care Recipient

Teresa Bolido, RN | Alaska Regional Hospital | Anchorage, Alaska

Professional Mentoring Recipients

Karen Giovengo, RN, MSN, CNL | St. Lucie Medical Center | Port St. Lucie, Florida

Barbara Rees, PhD, RN | Redmond Regional Medical Center | Rome, Georgia

Leah Farrell, BSN, RN | Swedish Medical Center | Englewood, Colorado

HCA internal audience can view the Excellence in Nursing Award video here